Monday, 29 February 2016

Our programme

Things are getting really serious now, we have our final programme, oh joy! Check out all the events on offer and their timing in our updated "Programme" section of this website! Yaaay!

Sunday, 28 February 2016

Tickets

You lovely people keep asking us "when will the tickets be on sale?" We are pleased to say that it will be very very soon! We are aiming to have the online sale up and ready on 01/03, along with a shiny programme that will tell you everything you have always wanted to know about the timing of each session! Just hang in there! :-)

Quiz night

Newcastle Noir loves crime-fiction, quizzes and good company so we thought "wouldn't it be a good idea to bring them all together?" and end the festival with a bang? So we did! Oh yes the very last hour of the festival will be a fun-filled crime quiz, start brushing up on your wide knowledge! :-)

In conversation with...

As Newcastle Noir continues to grow, it is our aim to bring a little something different to the mix. This year we thought we'd try some "in conversation" sessions as part of the programme. Here is the fabulous line-up we have to offer:

- Val McDermid in conversation with Gail-Nina Anderson

- Sophie Hannah in conversation with Sheila Quigley

- √Člmer Mendoza in conversation with Mauricio Montiel Figueiras

We simply can't wait!!!

Thursday, 25 February 2016

Panel four - Second day

After Brit Noir, Nordic Noir and Writing Elsewhere we will finish the day with some New Blood for you! Come and join Graham Smith, Col Bury, Alison Taylor-Baillie and Amit Dhand!

Our panels are now complete but that doesn't mean that Newcastle Noir is over, oh no, we will tell you all about our three "in conversation with" sessions very soon!

Tuesday, 23 February 2016

Panel three - second day

After the delights of Nordic Noir we will explore the world in our third panel, Writing Elsewhere, with Alex Shaw, Barbara Nadel and Michael Stanley!

New Writing North crime writing event

Crime Story: Portrait of a Criminal
Thursday 10/03, 7 pm
Live Theatre, Newcastle

Two award-winning writers explore the minds of two of the most notorious criminals of recent times.

Dan Davies spent more than a decade writing the highly-acclaimed biography, In Plain Sight: The Life and Lies of Jimmy Savile, which won the Gordon Burn Prize 2015 and was shortlisted for the James Tait Black Prize 2015. The book is both an extraordinary portrait of Savile, compiled from years of interviews and dogged research, as well an enquiry into the society that enabled him for so long.

The event also launches Northern Writers’ Awards winner Andrew Hankinson’s You Could Do Something Amazing with Your Life [You Are Raoul Moat]. The book covers the last days of the fugitive gunman Raoul Moat, who shot three people before going on the run in rural Northumberland. The book is written in Moat’s own words, pieced together from letters and recordings, offering a compelling insight into his paranoid state. You Could Do Something Amazing has already been named by several critics as one of the books of the year.

Dan Davies and Andrew Hankinson, writers in the tradition of David Peace and Newcastle’s own Gordon Burn, will discuss the subjects of their work, their own methods and the place of true crime in literary writing.

There will be a book signing after the event.

The evening will also unveil the full programme for this year’s Crime Story festival, which takes place on Saturday 11 June. Paula Hawkins (The Girl on the Train) will be headlining this year’s festival for crime writers and readers, which brings together forensic scientists, criminologists, police officers and lawyers to reveal and interrogate the facts behind crime fiction.

Ticket holders for Crime Story: Portrait of a Criminal will receive £10/£8 off their Crime Story festival ticket price. Crime Story is presented by New Writing North and Northumbria University.

Book now: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/crime-story-portrait-of-a-criminal-tickets-20968654811

Sunday, 21 February 2016

Panel two - second day

After starting the Sunday with Brit Noir we shall leave this shore and head for the Nordic panel with Mari Hannah, Jonina Leosdottir, Gunnar Staalsen and Kati Hiekkapelto!

Thursday, 18 February 2016

Our latest author

Surely you didn't think our line-up was now complete? Of course it isn't! :-) And we are heading back to Iceland to welcome Jonina Leosdottir and her Edda crime-series! Find out more about Jonina in "Featured authors".

Panel one - second day

We left you with the supernatural panel on the Saturday. After a good night sleep the festival will resume with a bang and the first panel of the day dedicated to Brit Noir with Susi Holliday, Sarah Ward, Helen Cadbury and Amanda Jennings, chaired by Barry Forshaw.

Monday, 15 February 2016

Fifth panel

And so we have arrived at our last panel of the first day of the festival and we will send you home full of terror with our Supernatural theme and AK Benedict, Lucy Cameron, Alexandra Sokoloff and Oscar de Muriel! Do come back for the Sunday delights that will be revealed soon!

Thursday, 11 February 2016

Fourth panel

So, what are we going to do in our fourth panel? To quote Michael Jackson...Thriller!!! Oh yes! So do come and join Michael Grothaus, Paul Hardisty, Craig Robertson and Yusuf Toropov

Monday, 8 February 2016

Snatch that body!

We are delighted to welcome, as part of the fringe events for Newcastle Noir, Snatch that body, a talk by Gail-Nina Anderson on Wednesday 27 April at 6 pm. And it's free!!!

In 1884, as a suitably seasonal tale, the Pall Mall Christmas Extra magazine published “The Body Snatcher” by Robert Louis Stevenson. A fiction with its roots in historical fact, the story is centred on the grisly practice of stealing freshly buried corpses for medical dissection. From such an august example, this (not too grisly) talk discusses the phenomenon of body-snatching as it has been fictionalised in literature and film, from the aspects of social history and burial practice, in relation to such real-life practitioners as Burke and Hare, and as the source for a flourishing growth of urban legends.

Saturday, 6 February 2016

It’s All In The Mind – Newcastle Noir crime writing workshop

We are delighted to announce " It’s All In The Mind", a crime writing workshop with Dr Christiana Gregoriou, as part of Newcastle Noir fringe events. This session will take place on Saturday 30th April, 10-12am.

Following the success of last year’s event, this crime writing workshop will give participants an insight into the way in which crime fiction works. It will introduce possible world theory, which can shed light on the nature of crime fiction narrative structure, and the ways this can manipulate, and control, readers’ reaction to such text. The workshop also presents a concept known as ‘mind style’, which connects linguistic choices to an understanding of character minds. The workshop will include participant activities and discussion.

Dr Christiana Gregoriou is a lecturer in English Language at the University of Leeds, and has written widely on stylistics, crime fiction 'deviance', and criminal ideology; she is a founding member of the Crime Studies Network https://www.facebook.com/CrimeStudiesNetwork.


This is the second of two possible crime writing workshops. The other workshop will take place on Tuesday 26th April, 6-8pm (details can be found below on our home page).

Tickets for these events are £10 for a single session or £15 for both

Thursday, 4 February 2016

Third panel

After discussing Novellas and Short stories we’ll step back in time for the Historical crime fiction panel with Frances Brody, Kate Griffin, Clare Carson and Luke McCallin!

Wednesday, 3 February 2016

Time for Crime – Newcastle Noir crime writing workshop

We are delighted to announce "Time for Crime", a crime writing workshop with Northeast crime writer Valerie Laws, as part of Newcastle Noir fringe events. This session will take place on Tuesday 26th April, 6-8pm.

Come over to the dark side and try your blood-stained hand at murder! In this two hour fun workshop Valerie Laws will introduce you to the basics of writing crime stories or even a novel - perhaps your 'tec will be on TV one day like wor Vera!

Valerie Laws has had 12 books published. Her Bruce and Bennett crime thrillers have been praised by Ann Cleeves, Val McDermid and Alex Marwood. She has worked with pathologists, anatomists and neuroscientists researching death and the brain. Valerie performs worldwide live and in the media, and is world-infamous for spray-painting poetry onto live sheep to celebrate quantum theory. She has been a lecturer on the MA (Creative Writing) and led many workshops in various genres.
http://www.valerielaws.com/


This is the first of two possible crime writing workshops. A second workshop will take place on Saturday 30th April, 10-12am (details to follow)

Tickets for these events are £10 for a single session or £15 for both.

Tuesday, 2 February 2016

Accommodation for Newcastle Noir 2016

We’re pleased to announce that Hampton by Hilton Newcastle have created a group block under the name of Newcastle Noir with reference code of NN1.

15 double rooms have been placed on hold at £95.00 per room (including full English breakfast and VAT) per day over the dates of the festival (29th April – 1st May).

Anyone wishing to take advantage of this offer should either email the hotel: reservations@hamptonnewcastle.com or call Kristina Skaburskyte (Reservations Manager) on 0191 500 5001 (option 2) to make the booking, quoting either Newcastle Noir or NN1 to get the preferential rate. The hotel will require debit/credit card details to secure the bookings.

Please note that rooms will be held until 29th February, 2016.

Monday, 1 February 2016

Second panel

After the delights of the Iceland/Nordic panel you will be treated to Novellas and Short stories with Quentin Bates, Daniel Pembrey, Paul Gitsham and Cath Staincliffe!